2016 U.S. Senior Amateur, Old Warson Country Club, St. Louis, Mo., September 17-22

Old Warson CC (Photo courtesy of Jim Healey)

­This is the third USGA championship played at Old Warson, designed by architect Robert Trent Jones Sr., and opened in 1954. The club hosted the 1999 U.S. Mid-Amateur, captured by Danny Green, and the 2009 U.S. Women’s Amateur, won by Jennifer Song.

Old Warson CC (Photo courtesy of Jim Healey)

Green, seeking a rare USGA championship double on the same course, is in the field for this Senior Amateur.

Old Warson also is the home club of Thomas J. O’Toole Jr., U.S. Association president in 2014 and 2015 and former chairman of the USGA Championship Committee.

Looking ahead, the 2017 U.S. Senior Amateur will be contested at The Minikahda Club in Minneapolis, Minn., and the 2018 championship will be held at Eugene (Ore.) Country Club.

The 11th hole at Minikhada CC (Photo courtesy of Minikhada CC)

Also in the future is the 2022 Senior Amateur at The Kittansett Club in Marion, Mass., although sites have yet to be announced for 2019, 2020 and 2021.

The first U.S. Senior Amateur, which at the time was called the USGA Senior Amateur, was played in 1955 at Belle Meade Country Club in Nashville, Tenn., The winner was J. Wood Platt, the eight-time Philadelphia Amateur champion, who defeated George Studinger of San Francisco, 5 and 4, in the final.

To be fair to the U.S. Seniors’ Golf Association, it was 1905 when The Apawamis Club in Rye, N.Y., started the oldest senior tournament still in existence. This event led to the formation of the U.S. Seniors’ Golf Association.

The 15th hole at Eugene CC (Photo courtesy of Eugene CC)

The minimum age at Apawamis was 60, which was lowered to 55 when the USGA eventually took over in 1955. The minimum age for the U.S. Senior Amateur still is 55, although the championship format has changed over the years.

From 1955 through 1962, 32 spots in match play were determined by 18 holes of qualifying.

In 1963, the championship went directly to match play with a field of 128 players. There was no on-site qualifying.

From 1964 to 1982, 36-hole qualifying was followed by match play (32 spots).

From 1983 to the present, the format has remained 36 holes of qualifying with the low 64 players advancing to match play.

The final match always has been contested over 18 holes.

in 1963, riding carts were allowed for the first time. This move was fought by traditionalists, who eventually lost the contentious issue for a simple reason: Caddies were in short supply during the event’s autumn dates.

11th hole, Old Warson CC (Photo courtesy of Jim Healey)

Interesting facts and records for the U.S. Senior Amateur:

OLDEST CHAMPION: Lewis Oehmig, 1985, 69 years/4 months/24 days.

YOUNGEST CHAMPION: Stan Lee, 2007, 55 years, 0 months, 5 days.

OLDEST QUALIFIER: Andy Andreola, 1994, 75 years, 10 months, 10 days.

MULTIPLE CHAMPIONS: Lewis Oehmig (3), J. Clark Espie (2), Merrill Carlsmith (2), Dexter Daniels (2), Curtis Person Sr. (2), Dale Morey (2), Bill Campbell (2), Bill Hyndman (2), R.S. Bo Williams (2), Clarence Moore (2), O. Gordon Brewer (2), Bill Shean Jr. (2), Kemp Richardson (2), Paul Simson (2).

CONSECUTIVE VICTORIES: Merrill Carlsmith (1962, 1963), Curtis Person Sr. (1968, 1969), Bill Campbell 1979, 1980).

MOST TIMES RUNNERUP: Lewis Oehmig (3).

WINNER OF U.S. AMATEUR AND U.S. SENIOR AMATEUR: Bill Campbell, Marvin Vinny Giles III.


FATHER AND SON CHAMPIONS: John Richardson (1987) and Kemp Richardson (2001, 2003).

BROTHERS IN THE WINNER’S CIRCLE: Stan Lee (2007), Louis Lee (2011).

LARGEST MARGIN OF VICTORY IN FINAL (18 holes): Joe Ungvary d. Jerry Nelson, 7 and 6, 1993.

LOWEST MEDALIST QUALIFYING SCORE: 134, Billy Clagett, The Farm GC, Rocky Face, Ga., 2005.

HIGHEST MEDALIST QUALIFYING SCORE: 153, J. Wolcott Brown, David Goldman and Ray Palmer, Shinnecock Hills GC, Southampton, N.Y., 1967.